Research - by faculty name

Research centers





Astrophysics and Cosmolgy


Atmospheric physics




Computational physics


Condensed matter physics


Laser spectroscopy and optics


Magnetic susceptibility


Nuclear and elementary particle physics


Physics education


Statistical physics





home > research > condensed matter physics

Condensed Matter Physics


The topics of faculty working in condensed matter physics cover a wide range. Their work has primarily been divided between experimental and computational studies. Topics include carbon nanotubes, microstructures of extreme environments, materials structures , magnetic spin glasses, semiconducting and superconducting materials.



Robert Catchings, Silvina Gatica, Christine Kennefick, James Lindesay, Walter Lowe, Sophia Suarez



The Propagation of a Pulse of Elastic Stress Through a Material Microstructure Having Alternating Regions of Tension and Compression. C. M. Kennefick, in review with the Journal of Sound and Vibration, submitted January 2006.


Transmission of Elastic Stress Through Circular and Elliptic Cross Section of Microstructural Elements Embedded in a Matrix Material. C. M. Kennefick. J. Appl. Mech. 72 [4] 558-563 (2005).


C. M. Kennefick. The Elastic Displacement and Stress in a Material to Promote Reflection and Transmission of an Incoming Wave, International Journal of Engineering Science, in review, submitted March 2007


C. M. Kennefick. Elastic Stresses in Three Dimensions Due to the Rotation of a Grain or Particle Embedded in a Material Under an Applied Load, Applied Mathematical Modeling, in review, submitted April 2007


Tight-Binding Calcium Clusters from Adaptive Tempering Monte Carlo Simulation. X. Dong, S. Gatica and E. Blaisten-Barojas, Computing Letters 4, (2005)


Capillary Condensation in cylindrical Nanopores. S. M. Gatica and M. W. Cole, Phys. Rev. E 72, 041602 (2005)


S. M Gatica, X. Dong and E. Blaisten-Barojas. Study of solid-liquid phase changes of Lennard-Jones nanoclusters by NPT Monte Carlo Simulations, J. of Computational and Theoretical Nanoscience (2007)